Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Krystal Fluff
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:49 pm 

I know that's a pretty general question but really anything helps. I'm just beginning songwriting, and I've managed to get the hang of how to make a song sound like grindcore/goregrind, but as soon as I try to venture into deathcore I'm pretty abysmal. Any suggestions for tunings, etc? I use Finale Notepad 2012 and I find it hard to get the notes I want on guitar, so if anyone knows a better program that would help too. Thanks if you took the time to read this and thanks in advance if you offer some tips!

hakarl
Metel fraek

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:21 am 

I reckon drop A is pretty common in deathcore.

To me it sounds like your premise for writing a song is a bit off. Shouldn't you be writing a good song, first and foremost, and let the genre be determined by what you're influenced by, and what elements are most appropriate for your song, and that particular project and band.

Krystal Fluff
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:54 am 

Ilwhyan wrote:
I reckon drop A is pretty common in deathcore.

To me it sounds like your premise for writing a song is a bit off. Shouldn't you be writing a good song, first and foremost, and let the genre be determined by what you're influenced by, and what elements are most appropriate for your song, and that particular project and band.

That's a good point, but I mean more in terms of when I make the transition from a riff in my head to putting it in the program, it doesn't sound accurate to what was in my head. And what I'm influenced by in this case is deathcore, thank you for the tips and insight man!

DeathcoreDecimator
Metalhead

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:02 pm