Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
jimbies
Noose Springsteen

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:21 am 

Who here collects titles from The Criterion Collection? I've been collecting since about 2008, and have built up a pretty respectable collection. What are some of your favourites, and some of your "most wanted to be added"? I won't list a lot of the well known ones like 12 Angry Men or Seven Samurai, but some of my "hidden gem" favourites are:

The Phantom Carriage
Highly, HIGHLY recommended. This is the film that made Ingmar Bergman want to make films. The visual effects for it's time (1921) are unbelievable. The non-linear storyline was also revolutionary for it's time. The Blu Ray extra of a different score conducted by KTL is a great watch, as well.

The Earrings Of Madame de..
Quirky little tale about a pair of earrings that set off a chain reaction of events. A really interesting form for narrative, and it looks incredible.

A Hollis Frampton Odyssey
If you're into avant-garde, freeform or anything off the wall, this collection is for you. Some of it is a little too out-there, even for me. But there are a lot of pieces in this that are incredibly intriguing.

Heart Of A Dog
Speaking of free-form: this documentary by Lou Reed's window Laurie Anderson is pretty damn perfect. There is no real "narrative", other than getting a glimpse into someone's stream of conscience, but the stories she tells are incredible. Specifically the one about 9/11.