Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Misfit74
Metalhead

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:47 pm 

New around here. Want to get feedback on Decapitated's 2011 release "Carnival is Forever".

Cover: Image
Track Listing: Image

This was the first Decapitated album I've listened to and I have to say why the fuck didn't I find these guys before now? In particular, the opening track "The Knife" gives me goosebumps. Holy shit. As a guitarist myself, the appreciation I have for the complexity of riffs and precision Vogg demonstrates across the album has me stoked as hell. Having listened to a bunch more albums of theirs since, I think the singer on this one does a good job. He has screaming ability that is measured and effective while being just heavy enough to not take anything away from the rest of the music. If you haven't heard this one, I'd highly suggest to check it out.

BladesofJustice
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:52 pm 

they went from real death metal to something crap imo

RapeTheDead
Stoned Jesus

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:53 pm 

Hey! First of all, welcome to the forum, hope you enjoy your stay. Second, there was already a thread created on this subject a little while back, we're one step ahead of ya. It's a few pages deep now, but if you want M-A's opinions on the album I suggest you give it a look:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=79892

SKYLESS AEONS
SENTIMENT DISSOLVE
HELL IS OTHER PEOPLE

Misfit74
Metalhead

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:55 pm 

RapeTheDead wrote:
Hey! First of all, welcome to the forum, hope you enjoy your stay. Second, there was already a thread created on this subject a little while back, we're one step ahead of ya. It's a few pages deep now, but if you want M-A's opinions on the album I suggest you give it a look:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=79892