Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2022
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Niklas Kvarforth

Niklas Kvarforth

Real/full name:
Niklas Kvarforth
38 (born Dec 7th, 1983)
Place of birth:
Sweden (Halmstad, Halland)


Niklas Kvarforth (born Olsson) is a multi-instrumentalist musician, best known as the founder, main composer and vocalist of the Swedish black metal band Shining. He was only twelve years old when he started the band. By the time Kvarforth was fourteen, Shining had released their first EP, Submit to Selfdestruction (1998), on which he played guitars and bass. It was not until the band released ...


Guest for:
- kkoagulaa.
- Anaal Nathrakh - Todos Somos Humanos.
- 11 as in Adversaries - The Night Scalp Challenger

He was the owner of Solid Productions, Selbstmord Services, Vicious Recordings and Katastrophy Records.

Additional discography:
Niklas Kvarforth: Fifteen Years of Absolute Darkness (Double CD), Spinefarm Records.


Blue Detective





Vocals (2019-present)

Niklas Kvarforth

Vocals (2011-present)


Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards (1996-present)

1998 Submit to Selfdestruction (EP) Guitars, Bass (as "Wraith")
2000 Within Deep Dark Chambers Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Songwriting, Lyrics (as "Kvarforth")
2001 Livets ändhållplats Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Lyrics (as "Kvarforth")
2002 III: Angst - Självdestruktivitetens emissarie Vocals, Guitars, Lyrics (as "Kvarforth")
2003 Dolorian / Shining (Split) Vocals, Guitars (lead)
2004 Through Years of Oppression (Compilation) Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
2005 IV: The Eerie Cold Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
2007 The Sinister Alliance (Split) Guitars, Bass (as "Wraith")
2007 V: Halmstad (Niklas angående Niklas) Vocals
2008 Shining / Den Saakaldte (Split) Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
2009 VI: Klagopsalmer Lyrics (tracks 1-3, 6), Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals, Songwriting (tracks 1-2) (as "Kvarforth")
2011 VII: Född förlorare Guitars, Vocals
2011 Förtvivlan, min arvedel (Single) Vocals, Lyrics
2012 Lots of Girls Gonna Get Hurt (EP) Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
2012 Redefining Darkness Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
2012 Shining / Alfahanne (Split) Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
2013 Shining / Monumentum (Split) Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
2013 In the Eerie Cold Where All the Witches Dance (Split) Songwriting
2013 8 ½: Feberdrömmar i vaket tillstånd Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
2014 Five Valid Reasons for Self-Inflicting Harm (EP) Guitars (tracks 1-4), Vocals
2015 IX: Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends Vocals, Guitars
2017 Fiende (EP) Vocals
2018 X: Varg utan flock Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
2019 Shining / Srd (Split) Guitars, Bass (as "Wraith")
(show all)


Guitars, Vocals (backing) (2005-present)

2007 Demo 2007 (Demo) Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2007 Kristiansen and Kvarforth Swim in the Sea of Equilibrium While Waiting (EP) Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2008 Amfetamin (EP) Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2009 Skandinavisk misantropi Vocals (additional), Guitars
2010 Bloodletting (Split) Guitars, Vocals (backing)


Vocals (2009-2011)

2009 Gestern starb ich schon heute / Have a Nice Fight (Split) Vocals (additional)
2009 A Sacrificial Offering to the Kingdom of Heaven in a Cracked Dog's Ear Vocals
2010 Stönkfitzchen (EP) Vocals (lead), Lyrics (track 5)

Den Saakaldte

Vocals (2008-2011)

2008 Øl, mørke og depresjon Vocals
2008 Shining / Den Saakaldte (Split) Vocals (as "Kvarforth")
2009 All Hail Pessimism Vocals


As Kvarforth:
Vocals (2005-2011)

2005 Hail Terror (Split) Vocals
2015 Ia Pazuzu (The Abyss of the Shadows) Vocals

Funeral Dirge

Guitars, Bass

1999 The Silence Ebony (EP) Guitars, Bass

Incinerate / Tyrant

Unknown (?-1996)


Guitars (2005)

Anaal Nathrakh

As Kvarforth:

2014 Desideratum Vocals (track 10)


2020 A Forest (EP) Vocals (tracks 1, 2)


2014 Carnivore Sublime Vocals (additional) (track 5)
2018 Dogs Always Bite Harder than Their Master (EP) Vocals (additional) (track 7)


2016 The Canticle of Shadows Vocals (track 5)


As Kvarforth:

2010 Torturmantra Vocals (track 4)

In Lingua Mortua

2010 Salon des refusés Vocals (tracks 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 11)


2010 Unbekannte Vocals (track 3)


2009 Pro-Gnosis-Diabolis 1993 / Solve et Coagula (Split) Vocals
2009 Solve et Coagula (Compilation) Vocals (track 1)

Melted Space

2015 The Great Lie Vocals [as Parcifal] (tracks 7-9)


2012 Thaumiel Vocals (track 4)


2017 Beyond the Fallacy Vocals (additional) (track 2)


2015 Graveward Vocals (additional) (track 9)

So Much for Nothing

2012 Livsgnist Vocals (additional) (track 4)


2016 Tales of Inevitable Death Vocals (track 4)

The Sarcophagus

2009 Hate Cult (EP) Vocals
2009 Towards the Eternal Chaos Vocals

The Vision Bleak

2010 Set Sail to Mystery Vocals (track 1, disc 2)


2016 Aeons in Sodom Vocals (track 6)

Den Saakaldte

2009 All Hail Pessimism Lyrics (track 6)

In Lingua Mortua

2010 Salon des refusés Lyrics (track 11)


2004 A World Through Dead Eyes Design (as "Kvarforth")


2000 Within Deep Dark Chambers Producer, Layout, Design
2002 III: Angst - Självdestruktivitetens emissarie Producer, Mixing (as "Kvarforth")
2005 IV: The Eerie Cold Producer
2007 V: Halmstad (Niklas angående Niklas) Producer
2009 VI: Klagopsalmer Producer (as "Kvarforth")
2011 VII: Född förlorare Producer
2013 8 ½: Feberdrömmar i vaket tillstånd Mixing, Mastering, Liner notes
2015 IX: Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends Producer (as "Kvarforth")
2018 X: Varg utan flock Producer

So Much for Nothing

2012 Livsgnist Lyrics (additional, track 4)


2014 Dark Gods: Abandon (Single) Lyrics
Added by: Alhadis Modified by: 0th
Added on: 2011-04-09 02:51:40 Last modified on: 2022-06-18 19:21:49
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.