Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2023
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Jason Netherton

Jason Netherton

Real/full name:
Jason Netherton
Place of birth:
United States (Upper Marlboro, Maryland)


American bassist & vocalist formerly of Dying Fetus. In 2014, Netherton published a book through Handshake Inc. entitled Extremity Retained: Notes From the Death Metal Underground. The book collects stories, memories & thoughts from many prominent musicians, chronicling the past, present & future of death metal.


Owner of The Other Records.

Runs the online metal fanzine archive Send Back My Stamps!

Resides in Helsinki, Finland.

He has a Ph.D. in Media Studies from The University of Western Ontario.
His dissertation title is "Heavy Metal Fundraisers: Entrepreneurial Recording Artists in Platform Capitalism".

Asphalt Graves

Vocals (2015-present)

2016 The New Primitive Vocals, Lyrics

Misery Index

Bass, Vocals (2001-present)

2001 Overthrow (EP) Bass, Vocals
2002 Misery Index / Commit Suicide (Split) Bass, Vocals
2002 Created to Kill (Split) Bass, Vocals
2003 Structure of Lies / Misery Index (Split) Bass, Vocals
2003 Retaliate Lyrics (tracks 1-10), Vocals, Bass
2004 DVD Vol. 1 (Video) Bass, Vocals
2004 Dissent (EP) Bass, Vocals
2006 Conquistadores / Untitled (Split) Bass, Vocals
2006 Discordia Lyrics (tracks 1-9), Vocals, Songwriting (tracks 1, 2, 5), Bass
2007 Hang Em High (EP) Bass, Vocals
2008 Ruling Class Cancelled (Split) Bass, Vocals, Lyrics (Track 1)
2008 Traitors Bass, Vocals
2010 Heirs to Thievery Songwriting (tracks 5, 8, 10), Lyrics (tracks 1-5, 7, 8, 10), Bass, Vocals
2011 Thus the Beast Decapitated / Siberian (Split) Lyrics, Bass, Vocals
2013 Live in Munich (Live album) Bass, Vocals
2014 The Killing Gods Bass, Vocals
2015 Primitive Future (Single) Bass, Vocals
2018 I Disavow (Single) Bass, Vocals
2018 Siberian (Single) Bass, Vocals, Lyrics
2019 Rituals of Power Bass, Vocals
2019 Zombie Prescription (Single) Bass, Vocals
2021 When Glory Beckons (Single) Bass, Vocals
2021 Coffin Up the Nails (Compilation) Bass, Vocals
2022 Strategies of Manipulation (Single) Bass, Vocals
2022 The Eaters and the Eaten (Single) Bass, Vocals
2022 Infiltrators (Single) Bass, Vocals
2022 Complete Control (Single) Bass, Vocals
2022 Complete Control Bass, Vocals
(show all)



1990 One Grain of Truth (Demo) Bass

Dying Fetus

Bass, Vocals (1991-2001)

1993 Bathe in Entrails (Demo) Bass, Vocals, Lyrics
1994 Infatuation with Malevolence (Demo) Bass, Vocals
1995 Infatuation with Malevolence (Compilation) Bass, Vocals
1996 Purification Through Violence Bass, Vocals, Lyrics
1998 Killing on Adrenaline Bass, Vocals, Lyrics
2000 Grotesque Impalement (EP) Bass, Vocals
2000 Destroy the Opposition Bass, Vocals
2002 Killing on Live (Video) Bass, Vocals



2006 Quills (EP) Bass
2011 At the Heart of the World / Quills (Split) Bass


2012 Global Flatline Vocals (track 12)


2014 Calignious Vocals (additional)

Beyond Terror Beyond Grace

2012 Nadir Vocals (backing) (track 6)

Blood Freak

As Jason:

2011 Mindscraper Lyrics (track 9), Vocals (track 9)

Carnal Blasphemy

2015 Liars Made Authority Vocals (additional)


2012 The Doomsayer's Call Vocals (track 2)


2005 Ravaging the Pristine (EP) Vocals (backing) (track 1)

Criminal Element

2008 Guilty as Charged Vocals (additional) (tracks 5, 7) (as "Netherton")
2010 Crime and Punishment Pt. 1 (EP) Vocals (backing)


2005 Purity: The Darwinian Paradox Vocals (track 12)

Dawn of Disease

2019 Procession of Ghosts Vocals (track 9)

Eternal Ruin

2006 Decomposing Salvation Vocals (track 8)

Internal Bleeding

2018 Corrupting Influence Vocals (backing) (track 8)


2022 Shattering Vessels Vocals (track 6)


2005 Trilateral Progression Vocals (backing) (tracks 3, 4, 8)

Phantom Corporation

2016 First Commandment (EP) Vocals (track 2)

Pig Destroyer

2012 Book Burner Vocals (track 5)


1998 Foretold...Foreseen Vocals (tracks 3, 8)
1999 Prophecy / Perversist (Split) Vocals (backing)

Rotten Sound

2011 Cursed Vocals (tracks 1, 5, 8, 14)

Severe Torture

2007 Sworn Vengeance Vocals (track 8)

The Bastard Within

2019 Better Dead than Friends Vocals (additional)


2012 ...con cognizione di causa Vocals (track 13)

When the World Burns

2019 Warlust (Single) Vocals


2016 In His Infernal Majesty's Service Vocals (additional) (track 5)

Criminal Element

2008 Guilty as Charged Lyrics (tracks 1, 3-5, 8) (as "Netherton")

Eternal Ruin

2006 Decomposing Salvation Lyrics (track 8)

Misery Index

2014 The Killing Gods Songwriting (tracks 8-11), Lyrics (track 6, 8-12)
2018 I Disavow (Single) Lyrics (track 1)
2019 Rituals of Power Lyrics (tracks 1-3, 5-9), Songwriting (tracks 5, 7)
2022 Complete Control Lyrics (tracks 1-8), Songwriting (tracks 3, 5, 7)

Torture Killer

2022 Dead Inside (EP) Lyrics (track 3)
Added by: Nanoscourge Modified by: PiotrB
Added on: 2011-04-09 19:24:17 Last modified on: 2023-01-17 05:34:27
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.