Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2022
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Jari Mäenpää

Jari Mäenpää

Real/full name:
Jari Mäenpää
44 (born Dec 23rd, 1977)
Place of birth:
Finland (Helsinki, Uusimaa)


Jari Mäenpää is the founder of the band Wintersun, in which he performs vocals, plays guitar and keyboards. He also played bass on Wintersun's first album before hiring a full-time line-up. Before forming Wintersun, Mäenpää was best known for his time in the folk metal band Ensiferum, which he joined in 1996 after leaving his prior band named Immemorial. Wintersun was initially planned as a ...


Despite rumours, misconceptions and April Fools jokes to the contrary, Jari Mäenpää has never been a member of Anathema or Norther.


Vocals (lead), Guitars, Keyboards (2003-present), Bass (2004)

2004 Wintersun Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Lyrics, Songwriting
2006 Live at Summer Breeze 2005 (Video) Vocals, Guitars
2012 Time I Vocals (lead), Guitars, Keyboards, Programming, Lyrics, Songwriting
2017 The Forest Seasons Vocals (lead, choirs), Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Samples, Drum programming, Songwriting, Lyrics
2017 Live at Tuska Festival 2013 (Live album) Guitars, Vocals
2017 The Forest Package (Compilation) Vocals (lead, choirs), Guitars, Bass (disc 5), Keyboards, Samples, Drum programming


As Arbaal:
Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (clean) (1998-2006)

1999 The Archaic Dreamer (Demo) Guitars (as "J. Mäenpää")
2001 Devs - Iratvs Songwriting (tracks 3, 6, 8), Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (backing) (as "Arbaal Mäenpää")
2002 Promon 02AB (Demo) Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (clean)


Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Programming (1996-2004)

1997 Demo I (Demo) Vocals, Guitars, Lyrics
1999 Demo II (Demo) Vocals, Guitars, Lyrics
1999 Hero in a Dream (Demo) Vocals, Guitars, Songwriting (tracks 1, 2, 5), Lyrics
2001 Ensiferum Lyrics (tracks 2-11), Songwriting (tracks 1-4), Vocals, Guitars (lead, rhythm, acoustic, 12-string), Keyboards
2004 Tale of Revenge (Single) Vocals, Guitars
2004 Iron Vocals, Guitars (rhythm, acoustic, solos), Vocals (choirs) (tracks 3, 9), Programming, Songwriting (tracks 2, 3, 7-9), Lyrics
2005 1997-1999 (Compilation) Vocals, Guitars


Vocals, Guitars, Programming

Lost Alone

Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Programming


Vocals (2017)

2017 The Anniversary Song (Single) Vocals


2002 Corona Borealis Guitars (lead) (track 7)

Nuclear Blast Allstars

2007 Out of the Dark Vocals (track 3)


2021 Call of the Wild Vocals (Disc 2: track 10)
2021 Call of the Wild Vocals (Disc 2, track 10)
2021 Call of the Wild Vocals (track 10, disk 2)


2001 Devs - Iratvs Songwriting (tracks 3, 6, 8) (as "Arbaal Mäenpää")


2004 Iron Recording (vocals)
2006 Dragonheads (EP) Lyrics (tracks 2, 4)

Nuclear Blast Allstars

2007 Out of the Dark Recording (additional)


2004 Wintersun Producer
2012 Time I Producer, Recording, Mixing, Mastering
2017 The Forest Seasons Mixing, Recording, Photography, Mastering, Engineering, Producer, Booklet
2017 Live at Tuska Festival 2013 (Live album) Mixing, Mastering
Added by: Necroghast Modified by: imnobody213
Added on: 2011-04-09 09:58:41 Last modified on: 2021-08-31 13:54:54
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.