Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2023
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Privacy Policy

Ivar Bjørnson

Ivar Bjørnson

Real/full name:
Ivar Skontorp Peersen
45 (born Nov 27th, 1977)
Place of birth:
Norway (Etne, Vestland)


Is a Norwegian composer/guitarist for the progressive black/viking metal band Enslaved. He is, along with Grutle Kjellson, one of only two founding members left in the current line-up, being only 13 years old at the time of the band's formation. He contributed keyboard/synth work to Borknagar's first three albums and synth/piano work on the Gorgoroth albums Incipit Satan and Destroyer under the ...


Performed with Taake at the Hole in the Sky 2005 festival in Bergen, Norway.

Husband of Tonie E. Peersen.


All instruments

Dream of an Opium Eater

Bass (2007-present)


Guitars, Keyboards, Piano, Electronics, Effects, Percussion, Vocals (backing) (1991-present)

1991 Nema (Demo) Guitars, Keyboards (as "Darkness")
1992 Yggdrasill (Demo) Guitars, Vocals, Keyboards (as "HM Daimonion")
1993 Hordanes Land (EP) Guitars, Effects, Synthesizer, Keyboards, Lyrics, Songwriting (as "D. Ymer")
1993 Emperor / Hordanes Land (Split) Guitars, Effects, Keyboards, Synths, Lyrics (as "D. Ymer")
1994 Promo '94 (Demo) Guitars, Keyboards
1994 Vikingligr veldi Guitars, Piano, Electronics, Songwriting, Lyrics
1994 Frost Guitars, Electronics
1995 The Forest Is My Throne / Yggdrasill (Split) Guitars, Keyboards (as "H.M. Daimonion")
1997 Eld Guitars, Keyboards, Lyrics, Songwriting
1998 Blodhemn Guitars, Keyboards, Songwriting (tracks 2-4, 7, 9), Lyrics (track 4)
2000 Mardraum (Beyond the Within) Guitars, Keyboards, Effects, Audio distortion, Percussion, Vocals (backing)
2001 Monumension Guitars, Keyboards, Piano, Hammond organ, Effects
2003 Below the Lights Guitars, Keyboards, Effects, Lyrics (tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 7)
2003 Live Retaliation (Video) Guitars
2004 Isa Guitars, Songwriting (tracks 2-9), Lyrics (tracks 3, 4, 6, 7, 9)
2005 Return to Yggdrasill - Live in Bergen (Video) Guitars
2006 Ruun Guitars, Effects
2008 Vertebrae Guitars
2009 Live at the Rock Hard Festival (Live album) Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2010 Axioma Ethica Odini Guitars (rhythm), Effects
2011 The Watcher (Live) (Single) Guitars
2011 The Sleeping Gods (EP) Guitars, Keyboards
2011 Thorn (EP) Guitars, Keyboards
2012 Riitiir Guitars, Keyboards, Effects, Vocals (backing), Songwriting, Lyrics
2015 In Times Guitars, Keyboards, Piano, Effects, Vocals (backing)
2016 The Sleeping Gods / Thorn (Compilation) Keyboards, Songwriting, Guitars
2017 Roadburn Live (Live album) Guitars
2017 Storm Son (Single) Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (backing), Effects
2017 Live in Plovdiv (Split) Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals (backing)
2017 E Keyboards, Guitars, Lyrics, Vocals (backing), Effects
2020 Homebound (Single) Guitars (electric, acoustic), Keyboards, Effects
2020 Utgard Guitars (electric, acoustic), Keyboards, Effects, Vocals (backing) (track 1)
2021 The Rise of Ymir (Live album) Guitars, Stormtronics, Vocals (backing)
2021 Below the Lights (Live album) Guitars
2021 Chronicles of the Northbound (Live album) Guitars, Stormtronics, Vocals (backing)
2021 Utgard: The Journey Within (Live album) Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2021 Caravans to the Outer Worlds (EP) Keyboards, Guitars (electric), Guitars (acoustic)
2022 Kingdom (Single) Guitars
2022 Congelia (Single) Guitars
2022 Caravans to the Outer Worlds (Single) Guitars
2023 Heimdal Guitars, Songwriting, Keyboards, Lyrics (tracks 1, 2, 4-6), Effects (additional)
(show all)

Ivar Bjørnson & Einar Selvik

Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Samples, Vocals (additional) (2014-present)

2016 Skuggsjá - A Piece for Mind & Mirror Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Samples, Vocals (additional)
2018 Hugsjá (Single) Guitars, Electronics
2018 Hugsjá Guitars, Electronics
2021 Hardanger (EP) Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Samples, Vocals (additional)




Keyboards, Effects (1994-1998)

1996 Borknagar Keyboards, Songwriting (tracks 2, 10)
1997 Novum Vox Mortis - Malicious Records Compilation Album (Split) Keyboards, Songwriting (track 14)
1997 The Olden Domain Keyboards
1998 The Archaic Course Effects, Keyboards
2008 For the Elements (1996-2006) (Compilation) Keyboards (tracks 1-5)


Guitars, Keyboards

Inoculate Injure

As D.M.:
Guitars, Vocals

1991 Artificial Respiration (Demo) Vocals
1991 Inoculate Injure (Demo) Vocals


Guitars (1994-1995)




As G.F.:
Guitars, Keyboards (1990-1991)

1991 The Last Settlement of Ragnarok (Demo) Guitars (as "Ivar Peersen")
1991 Feverish Convulsions (Demo) Guitars, Keyboards




Keyboards (2003)


Guitars (2005)


As Ivar Peersen:

2014 Doomicus (Single) Vocals (track 2)


2011 Krieg: An Odyssey in Misery Keyboards (track 8)


As Daimonion:

1998 Destroyer, or About How to Philosophize with the Hammer Effects (track 3)
2000 Incipit Satan Synthesizer (tracks 1, 2, 4)
2001 Destroyer, or About How to Philosophize with the Hammer / Incipit Satan (Compilation) Effects (track 3), Synthesizer (tracks 9, 10, 12)
2003 Twilight of the Idols - In Conspiracy with Satan / Incipit Satan (Compilation) Keyboards (tracks 1, 2, 4)


2014 Nigredo Guitars (track 5)

Octavia Sperati

2005 Winter Enclosure Effects (track 11)


2011 Noregs vaapen Guitars (bonus LP track)


1992 Yggdrasill (Demo) Mixing, Lyrics (as "Daimonion")
1994 Frost Cover concept (as "Ivar")
1995 The Forest Is My Throne / Yggdrasill (Split) Mixing (as "Daimonion")
2001 Monumension Layout, Design
2003 Below the Lights Producer, Mixing
2006 Ruun Conceptual Production, Recording (additional keyboards & effects)
2008 Vertebrae Art direction, Engineering, Producer
2009 The Wooden Box (Boxed set) Producer
2010 Axioma Ethica Odini Producer, Engineering, Art concept
2011 The Watcher (Live) (Single) Mixing (as "Ivar S. Peersen")
2011 Thorn (EP) Producer, Lyrics, Composition (as "Ivar Peersen")
2012 Riitiir Producer, Engineering, Design concept
2015 In Times Producer, Engineering, Art direction
2016 The Sleeping Gods / Thorn (Compilation) Producer, Lyrics (as I. Peersen)
2017 Roadburn Live (Live album) Producer
2017 Storm Son (Single) Producer
2017 E Engineering, Art direction, Producer
2020 Utgard Concept, Producer, Art direction, Songwriting, Lyrics
2021 Caravans to the Outer Worlds (EP) Lyrics (track 1), Recording, Songwriting, Engineering, Producer
2022 Kingdom (Single) Producer
2022 Congelia (Single) Producer
2022 Caravans to the Outer Worlds (Single) Producer
2023 Heimdal Producer, Engineering, Art direction
2023 Heimdal Producer (Blu-ray)
2023 Heimdal Producer (Blu-ray)
(show all)

Ivar Bjørnson & Einar Selvik

2016 Skuggsjá - A Piece for Mind & Mirror Recording, Mixing
2016 Skuggsjá - A Piece for Mind & Mirror Recording, Mixing
2018 Hugsjá (Single) Producer
2018 Hugsjá Producer

Octavia Sperati

2007 Grace Submerged Lyrics (track 9)


2003 Demo 2002 (Demo) Producer (as "Ivar P.")


2008 In Shadow's Embrace Mastering
Added by: Evenfiel Modified by: Quorthallis
Added on: 2011-04-09 03:53:45 Last modified on: 2023-08-05 05:20:27
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.