Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2021
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy



Real/full name:
Gylve Fenris Nagell
49 (born Nov 28th, 1971)
Place of origin:
Norway (Vinterbro, Viken)


Nagell is the drummer and lyricist of the Norwegian black metal duo Darkthrone. He has performed solo and been involved with a number of bands spanning a variety of musical genres.

Nagell's first exposure to metal music came when he was three years old and received Uriah Heep's album Sweet Freedom from his uncle for his birthday. At the age of five, he would fashion belts for himself out of ...


Back in 1999, Fenriz, Satyr, Philip Anselmo, Killjoy, and Maniac started a "supergroup" called Eibon. They were supposed to record a full-length, but due to their heavy schedule, plans were changed. Maniac left the band, and they released one track called "Mirror Soul Jesus" on the Moonfog Productions compilation Moonfog 2000 - A Different Perspective. They also recorded an unnamed song. Both of ...


Drums, Vocals (additional) (1987-present), Bass, Guitars (additional) (1993-present)

1988 Land of Frost (Demo) Vocals, Drums (as "Gylve")
1988 A New Dimension (Demo) Drums (as "Gylve")
1989 Thulcandra (Demo) Drums, Vocals (as "Gylve Nagell")
1989 Cromlech (Demo) Drums (as "Gylve")
1991 Soulside Journey Drums, Lyrics (as "Hank Amarillo")
1992 A Blaze in the Northern Sky Drums, Vocals (spoken lines, intro), Lyrics
1993 Under a Funeral Moon Drums, Percussion, Songwriting (tracks 2, 5-6, 8), Lyrics
1994 Transilvanian Hunger Drums, Guitars, Bass, Lyrics (tracks 1-4)
1995 Panzerfaust Drums, Vocals (track 7), Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Lyrics (tracks 1-5)
1996 Goatlord Drums, Vocals
1996 Total Death Vocals, Guitars, Drums, Bass
1999 Ravishing Grimness Songwriting (track 2), Drums, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3-6)
2001 Plaguewielder Drums, Vocals (Spoken lines, Intro), Lyrics
2003 Hate Them Drums, Lyrics
2004 Sardonic Wrath Drums, Vocals, Lyrics
2005 Under beskyttelse av mørke (EP) Drums, Lyrics
2006 Too Old Too Cold (Single) Drums, Vocals, Guitars, Lyrics
2006 The Cult Is Alive Drums, Vocals (track 4), Vocals (backing) (track 10), Guitars (rhythm) (track 8), Lyrics, Songwriting (tracks 3, 4, 8, 10)
2006 Forebyggende krig (Single) Drums, Vocals (track 2)
2007 NWOBHM (New Wave of Black Heavy Metal) (EP) Drums, Vocals, Guitars
2007 F.O.A.D. Drums, Vocals, Lyrics
2008 Dark Thrones and Black Flags Drums, Vocals, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3, 5-7, 10) (as "Gylve Fenris 'Mao Tse Tungrock' Nagell")
2010 Circle the Wagons Drums, Vocals, Guitars (track 9), Bass, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3, 5, 7), Songwriting (tracks 1, 3, 5, 6, 8)
2013 Leave No Cross Unturned (Edit) (Single) Drums, Vocals, Lyrics, Songwriting
2013 The Underground Resistance Drums, Bass (track 4), Vocals, Lyrics, Songwriting (tracks 2, 4, 6) (as "Gylve Fenriz "Kaptein Vom" Nagell")
2014 Black Death and Beyond (Compilation) Drums (as "Gylve Fenris Nagell")
2016 Tundra Leech (Single) Drums, Vocals (additional)
2016 Arctic Thunder Songwriting (tracks 1, 3, 5, 8), Drums, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3, 5, 6, 8) (as "Gylve Fenris "Kvass i Takom" Nagell")
2016 The Wind of 666 Black Hearts (Compilation) Drums
2017 Burial Bliss / Visual Aggression (Single) Vocals, Guitars (track 2), Drums (track 1) (as "Gylve Fenriz Nagell")
2019 The Hardship of the Scots (Single) Drums, Vocals (additional)
2019 Duke of Gloat (Single) Drums
2019 Old Star Drums, Songwriting (as "Gylve Fenris ~More Claypool~ Nagell")
2021 Hate Cloak (Single) Drums, Vocals (additional), Bass, Guitars (additional)
2021 Eternal Hails...... Bass, Guitars (additional), Drums, Vocals (additional)
(show all)


As Gylve Nagell:
Drums (1987-1989, 1993-?, 2007-present)

1988 Castle of Death (Demo) Drums
1989 Amalgamation (Demo) Drums
1995 Moonstoned Drums (as "Gribb")
1997 Heading for Mars Drums (as "Lee Bress")
2009 Red Planet Drums, Vocals

Black Death

As Gylve "Death" Nagell:
Vocals, Drums (1986-1987)

1987 Trash Core '87 (Demo) Drums, Vocals
1987 Black Is Beautiful (Demo) Vocals, Drums

Dass & Flass

As Gylve Nagell:


Bass, Vocals (1994-1995)

1994 Promo 1994 (Demo) Bass, Vocals
1995 Kronet til konge Bass, Vocals (additional)
1995 Promo 1995 (Demo) Bass, Vocals (additional)



Fenriz' Red Planet

Everything (1993-?)

2009 Engangsgrill (Split) All instruments, Vocals

Fuck You All

As Gylve Fenris:

2009 Fuck You All (EP) Bass


Everything (1989-1995)

1989 Spectres over Gorgoroth (Demo) Everything
1994 Vinterskugge (Compilation) Everything
1995 Høstmørke Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Drums, Keyboards
2016 Traditional Doom Cult (EP) Everything
2020 Vårjevndøgn (Compilation) Everything

Neptune Towers

Keyboards (1993-1995)

1994 Caravans to Empire Algol Keyboards
1995 Transmissions from Empire Algol Keyboards

Pilgrim Sands

As Gylve Nagell:
Everything (1986-1989)

Regress FF


2015 Regress FF (Single) Everything

Reitgjerde Pasientband, and the Heavy Ripping Fyrstikk

As Gylve Nagell:


As Herr Nagell:
Drums, Vocals

1995 Nordavind Drums, Vocals


2010 Dawn of Inhumanity Additional chaos (track 10)

Aura Noir

1995 Dreams like Deserts (EP) Vocals (track 6)
2000 Increased Damnation (Compilation) Vocals (tracks 1-2)
2004 The Merciless Vocals (additional) (track 1)
2012 Dreams like Deserts (EP) Vocals (track 11)


2001 Discipline Vocals (additional) (track 4)


As Gylve Fenris Nagell:

2014 Doomicus (Single) Vocals (track 1)


As Gylve Nagell:

1991 The Eyes of Uranus (Demo) Vocals

Red Harvest

2000 Cold Dark Matter Vocals (backing) (track 3)


1999 Rebel Extravaganza Percussion (tracks 4, 5)


As Fenriz Gylve Nagell:

2000 The Excellence Lyrics (track 2)


2011 Thorns vs. Emperor (Split) Vocals (track 9), Drums


As Gylve Nagell:

1990 Trauma (Demo) Drums (tracks 1-3)

Aura Noir

2012 Out to Die Lyrics (track 5)

Black Death

1987 Trash Core '87 (Demo) Cover art, Logo (as "Gylve "Death" Nagell")


2009 Resplendent Grotesque Lyrics (track 1)


1989 Thulcandra (Demo) Layout (as "Gylve")
1991 Soulside Journey Photography, Design, Logo (as "Gylve Nagell")
1992 A Blaze in the Northern Sky Logo (as "Gylve")
1994 Transilvanian Hunger Cover model
1995 Panzerfaust Design
2007 F.O.A.D. Photography, Producer, Mixing
2008 Frostland Tapes (Compilation) Liner notes
2008 Dark Thrones and Black Flags Artwork concept, Photography
2010 Circle the Wagons Mixing, Recording
2011 Sempiternal Past - The Darkthrone Demos (Compilation) Liner notes
2016 Arctic Thunder Art direction
2016 The Wind of 666 Black Hearts (Compilation) Liner notes
2019 Old Star Lyrics
(show all)


2014 Doomicus (Single) Lyrics (track 1) (as "Gylve Fenris Nagell")

Fenriz' Red Planet

2009 Engangsgrill (Split) Recording, Engineering


1994 Vinterskugge (Compilation) Mixing, Engineering, Producer
1995 Høstmørke Producer, Engineering
2016 Traditional Doom Cult (EP) Producer, Engineering, Liner notes
2020 Vårjevndøgn (Compilation) Engineering, Recording


2016 Demo #2 (Demo) Mastering


2015 Live in Leipzig (Live album) Liner notes
2015 Live in Leipzig (Live album) Liner notes

Neptune Towers

1994 Caravans to Empire Algol Recording, Producer, Engineering
1995 Transmissions from Empire Algol Recording, Producer, Engineering


1996 Nemesis Divina Lyrics (track 4) (as "Herr Nagell")
2002 Volcano Drum consulting (additional)


1989 Amalgamation (Demo) Mixing (as "Gylve")
Added by: Evenfiel Modified by: EpicDismemberment
Added on: 2011-04-09 02:19:03 Last modified on: 2021-06-12 12:38:22
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.