Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2019
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Matias Kupiainen

Matias Kupiainen

Real/full name:
Matias Kupiainen
35 (born May 11th, 1983)
Place of origin:
Finland (Helsinki)


Kupiainen is a Finnish guitarist, songwriter and record producer, mainly known for having replaced Timo Tolkki in Stratovarius in 2008. He has studied at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki and at the Pop & Jazz Conservatory in Oulunkylä, Finland, and he has also been frequently working as studio/session guitarist for metal, rock and pop acts.

Fist in Fetus

Guitars (2006-?)

2007 Fist in Fetus (EP) Guitars


Guitars (2008-present)

2009 Deep Unknown (Single) Guitars
2009 Polaris Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2010 Darkest Hours (EP) Guitars
2011 Elysium Guitars, Programming
2012 Under Flaming Winter Skies - Live in Tampere (Video) Guitars (acoustic) (10), Guitars, Vocals (backing)
2013 Unbreakable (EP) Guitars on tracks 1, 2 and 3
2013 Nemesis Guitars
2015 Eternal Guitars, Songwriting (tracks 1, 3, 5, 10)
2016 Best Of (Compilation) Guitars (tracks 1, 13-15, CD1; tracks 1, 5-6, 8-9, 11, CD2; tracks 1-11, CD3)
2018 Unbreakable (Single) Guitars
2018 Enigma: Intermission II (Compilation) Guitars
(show all)

The Sinkage


2002 Promo 2002 (Demo) Guitars


2009 Beyond Perception Guitars (lead) (track 7)


2014 Superhero Diaries - Part I Guitars (solo on 3)

Force Majeure

2011 Saints of Sulphur Guitars (lead) (track 2)

Ghoul Patrol

2009 The 3rd Death Manifest (EP) Guitar Solo in Gut Rotting Riot
2011 Ghoul Patrol Guitars (lapsteel) (on tracks 1 & 2), Banjo (on track 4)


2011 Räyh! Guitars (lead) (track 13)


2010 Beyond the Space, Beyond the Time Guitar solo (track 4)


2011 Axes of the Universe Guitar solo (track 3)


2011 Stand Up and Fight Guitars (additional lead)
2013 Turisas2013 Guitars (additional)


As Matias "FASTER, GODDAMNIT!" Kupiainen:

2010 Thousand Swords Guitars (lead) (track 9), Guitars (acoustic) (tracks 5, 9)


2011 Far Beyond the Seven Seas Guitars (track 9)


2006 Repressed (Single) Recording (track 1)
2010 7th Symphony Recording (bass)


2013 New Dawn (EP) Producer, Recording, Mixing
2014 Last of Us Engineering, Synth programming, Mixing, Producer, Recording
2018 Life Is Not Beautiful Co-producer, Recording, Editing, Songwriting (additional), Mixing, Engineering

Frozen Land

2018 Frozen Land Mixing

Ghoul Patrol

2008 Death Fuckin' Roll! (EP) Mastering
2009 Hellfire Blues (EP) Mastering
2009 The 3rd Death Manifest (EP) Producer, Mixing, Engineering, Mastering
2011 Ghoul Patrol Producer, Mixing, Engineering

Raskasta Joulua

2015 Tulkoon joulu - Akustisesti Recording (strings)


2014 Katharsis Recording (vocals) (tracks 2-5, 7-11), Mixing, Co-producer


2009 Deep Unknown (Single) Engineering
2009 Polaris Engineering
2010 Darkest Hours (EP) Producer, Engineering, Mixing (tracks 2, 3), Editing
2011 Elysium Recording, Producer, Mixing (tracks 3, 4, 8, 9)
2012 Under Flaming Winter Skies - Live in Tampere (Video) Mixing (audio)
2013 Unbreakable (EP) Producer, Engineering, Mixing (1)
2013 Nemesis Producer, Recording, Engineering, Mixing
2015 Eternal Producer, Engineering, Mixing
2018 Enigma: Intermission II (Compilation) Producer (Track 1, 4 & 7), Recording (Vocals, Guitars and drums)


2007 The Varangian Way Engineering (additional)
2013 Turisas2013 Recording (orchestral)


2007 Wrath of Heaven (Demo) Mixing, Mastering
2010 Thousand Swords Engineering, Additional recording, Editing
Added by: ShadowOfGod Modified by: Krister Jensen
Added on: 2011-04-09 15:07:47 Last modified on: 2019-01-12 07:03:52
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.