Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2022
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Motörhead > On Parole
Motörhead - On Parole

Motörhead discography (main)
< Bomber
Ace of Spades
Motörhead discography (all)
< Bomber / Over the Top
The Golden Years (Live EP)

On Parole


Release date:
December 8th, 1979
Catalog ID:
LBR 1004
United Artists Records
12" vinyl (33⅓ RPM)
5 reviews (avg. 65%)
Side A
1. Motörhead (Hawkwind cover) 02:49   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
2. On Parole 05:37   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Vibrator 02:52   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Iron Horse / Born to Lose 05:14   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
Side B
5. City Kids (Pink Fairies cover) 03:43   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
6. Fools 05:35   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
7. The Watcher (Hawkwind cover) 04:46   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Leaving Here (Eddie Holland cover) 02:53   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
9. Lost Johnny (Hawkwind cover) 03:30   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
Band members
Lemmy Kilmister (R.I.P. 2015) Bass, Vocals
Larry Wallis (R.I.P. 2019) Guitars, Vocals (lead) (tracks 3, 6)
Philthy Animal (R.I.P. 2015) Drums (tracks 1-8)
Lucas Fox Drums (track 9)
Miscellaneous staff
Fritz Fryer (R.I.P. 2007) Producer
Lemmy Kilmister (R.I.P. 2015) Bass, Vocals
Larry Wallis (R.I.P. 2019) Guitars, Vocals (lead) (tracks 3, 6)
Philthy Animal (R.I.P. 2015) Drums (tracks 1-8)
Lucas Fox Drums (track 9)
Fritz Fryer (R.I.P. 2007) Producer
Read The band you are looking... 59% gasmask_colostomy August 15th, 2022
Read Salvageable 70% DawnoftheShred April 22nd, 2009
Read Fairly competent classic... 67% Mungo June 2nd, 2007
Read Different, yes, but good as... 78% I_am_thy_abyss February 4th, 2006
Read Interesting, but didn't... 52% VileRancour May 20th, 2004

On Parole was recorded in September 1975, so technically it is the band's first album. It was supposed to be released in 1976, but the label refused and it got shelved. The album was eventually released in 1979 to cash in on the band's success.

Motörhead themselves have said that their 1977 self-titled album is their first official release. They have denied that "On Parole" was their debut album. Due to the record company's initial refusal to release the album, when a reconfigured Motörhead (featuring Eddie Clarke on guitar) were given studio time by Chiswick Records in 1977, they chose to re-record the album again in its entirety (only "Fools" and "Leaving Here" weren't re-recorded) leading to their self-titled release.

On the 1984 No Remorse compilation Lemmy states that "Leaving Here" is a The Birds cover. The "original" is in itself a cover of a song written and first recorded by Eddie Holland in 1963.

Re-released as "Play It Loud!" in 1992 (with different track order and without "On Parole").

Roadrunner Records issued a CD with one bonus track, "Dirty Love".
Made in USA - RR 9227-2

Recording information:

Recorded at Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales.
1-9 produced by Fritz Fryer
10 produced by Dave Edmunds & Motörhead
11-13 produced by Dave Edmunds


Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings Side A, B): BiLBo 'N' GEOFF
Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A-Stamped): LBR 1004 A-1U
Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B-Stamped): LBR 1004 B-1U

Added by: (Unknown user) Modified by: Quorthallis
Added on: N/A Last modified on: 2020-12-28 23:00:16