Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2019
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Meshuggah > Nothing
Meshuggah - Nothing
Meshuggah discography (main)
< Catch Thirtythree
Meshuggah discography (all)
< Catch Thirtythree



Release date:
October 31st, 2006
Catalog ID:
NB 1729-2 / 1729-2
Nuclear Blast
5 reviews (avg. 29%)
Disc 1 (CD)
1. Stengah 05:38   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
2. Rational Gaze 05:26   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Perpetual Black Second 04:39   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Closed Eye Visuals 07:25   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
5. Glints Collide 04:56   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
6. Organic Shadows 05:20   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Straws Pulled at Random 05:16   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Spasm 04:14   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
9. Nebulous 07:06   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
10. Obsidian 08:33   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
Disc 2 (DVD)
1. Straws Pulled Random 05:22   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
2. In Death Is Death 08:11   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Future Breed Machine 06:17   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Rational Gaze 03:35   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
5. Shed 03:37   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
6. New Millenium Cyanide Christ 05:47   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Rational Gaze (Mr. Kidman Delirium Version) 04:37   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
Band members
Tomas Haake Drums
Fredrik Thordendal Guitars
Jens Kidman Vocals
Mårten Hagström Guitars
Dick Lövgren Bass
Miscellaneous staff
Fredrik Thordendal Recording, Engineering, Mixing, Editing
Fredrik Thordendal Recording, Engineering, Mixing, Editing
Read pretty much worthless 10% raspberrysoda November 5th, 2016
Read The infinite regression of... 14% hells_unicorn March 26th, 2014
Read Pointless re-recording? Or... 64% GuardAwakening January 30th, 2013
Read It sounds so heavy! 5% Zodijackyl September 28th, 2012
Read Meshuggah - Nothing... 50% ConorFynes March 20th, 2012

The new version features the rhythm guitar tracks re-recorded with new guitars and amplifiers. The guitar tracks on the original Nothing were recorded with detuned 7-string Ibanez guitars, as the Nevborn custom 8-string guitars they owned suffered from bad intonation and became detuned between each recording. When guitarists Hagström and Thordendal were sponsored by Ibanez with custom 8-string guitars, they were so pleased with the results that they decided to re-record their parts with the new instruments. The drums were also re-recorded by triggering the original drum hits using Drumkit from Hell Superior. The vocals were not re-recorded, but were given extra dramatic effects.

Aside from the re-recorded guitars and triggered drum samples, there are only two songs significantly modified from their original version. The tempo of "Nebulous" has been lowered, and the length of "Obsidian" has nearly been doubled, the heavy riff beginning at 3:08 and changing tempo at around 5:30. The rest of the songs from the re-release seem to be minimally longer than the original release.

This release also includes a DVD of video clips and their Download Festival performance in 2005, as well as modified cover art.

Recording information:

Original album recorded at Studio Dug-Out, Area 51 & Fear and Loathing in La Spånga.
Re-recorded guitars and all additional editing done at Fear and Loathing Studio by Fredrik Thordendal in 2005 and 2006.

DVD tracks 1-3 recorded live in 2005 at the Download Festival in the United Kingdom.


Barcode: 7 27361 17292 3
Matrix / Runout (CD): DIDX 128798 2
Matrix / Runout (DVD): DVSS-412230A1 3
Mastering SID Code (CD): IFPI L329
Mastering SID Code (DVD): IFPI L332
Mould SID Code (CD): IFPI 50AB
Mould SID Code (DVD): IFPI OWO4

Added by: Evenfiel Modified by: Caliginosity
Added on: 2011-09-02 04:06:56 Last modified on: 2015-06-17 18:08:37