Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2022
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Privacy Policy

Burzum > Hliðskjálf
Burzum - Hliðskjálf

Burzum discography (main)
< Dauði Baldrs
Burzum discography (all)
< 1992-1997



Release date:
April 26th, 1999
Catalog ID:
AMAZON 021 / EYE 006
Version desc.:
Misanthropy Records
13 reviews (avg. 77%)
1. Tuistos Herz 06:13   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
2. Der Tod Wuotans 06:43   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Ansuzgardaraiwô 04:28   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Die Liebe Nerþus' 02:14   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
5. Frijôs einsames Trauern 06:15   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
6. Einfühlungsvermögen 03:55   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Frijôs goldene Tränen 02:38   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Der weinende Hadnur 01:16   Instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
Band members
Varg Vikernes Keyboards
Miscellaneous staff
Pytten Mastering
Tanya Stene Cover art
Stephen O'Malley Design, Additional art
Varg Vikernes Keyboards
Pytten Mastering
Tanya Stene Cover art
Stephen O'Malley Design, Additional art
Read Better Ambient Album of the... 80% Slater922 October 25th, 2020
Read Hliðskjálf 80% EvilAllen September 21st, 2017
Read Sparse ambient BM album... 50% NausikaDalazBlindaz October 1st, 2012
Read Throne of tranquility. 95% hells_unicorn November 26th, 2011
Read Mellowed madman with a... 63% autothrall March 19th, 2011
Read Burzum: Hliðskjálf 67% ImpureSoul February 12th, 2010
Read Background music 55% linkavitch August 31st, 2009
Read Atmosphere in a Bottle 93% 1stMetalheads October 1st, 2008
Read I get it… but it doesn’t... 42% PigBenis May 30th, 2008
Read Astounding. 97% TheBigDizzle July 28th, 2004
Read the most brilliant album i... 100% Shadow0fDeath June 22nd, 2004
Read 90% stickyshooZ June 18th, 2004
Read Moved me to tears... 85% golgotha85 April 6th, 2004

Also released as a digipak and LP.
LP version limited to 1000 copies on gold vinyl. Included a poster of the cover art and 12-page A-5 booklet.

Hliðskjálf is the name of Odin's throne.

Varg used full keyboard sound instead of MIDI this time.

Though there are lyrics in the booklet, the music itself doesn't have any vocals. The text is to inform the reader about what the atmosphere surrounding the songs themselves should be, or rather, what the songs should feel like in general.

Song titles in English are:
1. Tuisto's Heart
2. The Death of Wotan
3. Warriors of Ansuzgarda
4. The Love of Nerthus
5. Frijo's Lonesome Mourns
6. The Power of Empathy
7. Frijo's Golden Tears
8. The Crying Hadnur

The song "Der weinende Hadnur" is a re-recorded version of the song "The Crying Orc" (from 1992 album Burzum).

Recording information:

Recorded during summer 1998.


Barcode: 5028563255021
Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): [DADC logotype] A0100275480-0101 11 A0
Mastering SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI L551
Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 94G1
Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): [DADC logotype] A0100275480-0101 11 A1
Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI L551
Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 94K1
Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): [DADC logotype] A0100275480-0101 11 A2
Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI L551
Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 94K4
Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): [DADC logotype] A0100275480-0101 11 A2
Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI L551
Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 94Y7

Added by: (Unknown user) Modified by: Mosurg
Added on: N/A Last modified on: 2022-06-19 21:07:42