Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 



Reply to topic  
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
PazuzuZlave
Metal newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 338
Location: Finland
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:58 am 
 

Hi. Last night as I turned off my computer (in the correct manner) everything was working fine. Today, disconnected the power to my computer for about half an hour whilst moving some stuff, like my monitor and speakers, to get more space on my computer table. When I ran the computer again, it was like I had started it for the first time. All my user settings have reset... My personal documents are still there, but under my previous user name "Kenose". The tricky thing is, I am logged in as "Kenose". I've created a new user, and now I'm copying the entire old user folder to my new one, but what really sucks is all the settings that I now, again, have to manually restore. All my passwords, all the links, even the goddamn sounds have gone. Yes, I am aware that I can do all of it manually, but to be honest, it's too much of a hassle. Anyone have a quick solution as to how I get this sorted out? Thanks in advance!
_________________
Cruor Deum - Active again!!!

Top
 Profile  
iAm
Wastelander

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 5629
Location: West of the Duwamish due South of the Sound
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:38 am 
 

Personal settings can sometimes reset when a driver is updated. Windows updates, as well for that matter.
_________________
iamntbatman wrote:
If the U.N. flew a bunch of C130's over Syria and rained down boxes of Thin Mints, they'd be standing in a giant circle hand-in-hand singing like goddamn Whoville residents within an hour.

I hate music

Top
 Profile  
PazuzuZlave
Metal newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 338
Location: Finland
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:43 am 
 

Ok. System restore didn't work though. Any idea how I can get it all back?
_________________
Cruor Deum - Active again!!!

Top
 Profile  
iAm
Wastelander

Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:18 am
Posts: 5629
Location: West of the Duwamish due South of the Sound
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:49 am 
 

Just have to do it all manually.

Corrupt usually implies something didn't install right and won't load at all or there's malware. Just for the record.
_________________
iamntbatman wrote:
If the U.N. flew a bunch of C130's over Syria and rained down boxes of Thin Mints, they'd be standing in a giant circle hand-in-hand singing like goddamn Whoville residents within an hour.

I hate music

Top
 Profile  
PazuzuZlave
Metal newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 338
Location: Finland
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:00 am 
 

Yeah, that's just my own theory though, Windows didn't claim anything corrupt.
Got all my settings back, just copied it all manually. Thanks for your help. Topic closed.
_________________
Cruor Deum - Active again!!!

Top
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BastardHead, bluwarguy, Dudemanguy, JopR, Kahalachan, Mandalgen, Manic Maniac and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Back to the Encyclopaedia Metallum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group