Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Celtic Frosted Flakes
Metalhead

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 9:25 am 

So I am currently waiting for my monthly monies to invest in a guitar, I have chosen the cheapest I could find that still seems decent (a squier strat) that costs about 1000 swedish kronor.

Now the question I have - how far can I get, realistically, without taking lessons immediately? Is it even possible for a complete beginner like myself to even learn anything the right way without a mentor or tutor? I am planning on taking lessons eventually, but I think I might start out with just a book or some internet lessons before that.
Also, how far could one expect to come in one year of playing? My goal is to basically be able to play simple songs like "The Crying Orc" by Burzum, etc. Can i realistically expect to be able to play that within a year maybe?

Thank you for your answers, and I apologize if this is too trivial of a matter to even make a thread about.

ShaolinLambKiller
King Asshole

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 9:43 am 

This is something that's so open according to personal ability and desire on wanting to play. There will never be a solid date to give you when to achieve your goals. could be a month or 3 years. it's all in how long you put your work in daily for achieving this goal. It's not like a RPG where after a certain amount of xp is gained you have a new level of ability.

Celtic Frosted Flakes
Metalhead

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 10:04 am 

Well I have A LOT of free time on the weekends, time that is essentially spent on the computer, and time that I would gladly spend on the guitar instead, so that is not a problem. I am also very interested in learning, not solely to have the ability to play, but also the process of learning in itself. "the chase is better than the catch"

FearTheNome
Metal newbie