Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
alexaons
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:26 pm 

Hi, I have been playing guitar for almost 1 years and I dont have a real amp so I use amplitube metal. I still have problem with creating a good guitar tone and after 1 year of work on it, I still have a shitty guitar tone and that's pissing me off. I was making a new song and start recording stuff until I stopped all because I realised that my guitar tone was really awfull and sound like shit. So, can you listen to this track and tell me what's wrong with this tone and how can I make it more thick and precise and less noisy. Dont pay attention to the song itself please.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/ge0ojqjqe ... arsmp3.mp3

Sadr_mordvig
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:02 pm 

well, amplitube... it's hard to make really STRONG tone with it... you can try to use less distortion and more mids... or maybe... what kind of tone youre looking for?

Scrabsy
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:05 pm 

C'mon the guitar tone's not that bad. I mean sure, it's a tiny bit weak, but I was expecting something unbearable. I wouldn't really bat an eye at this tone if I heard it on a demo or something. Best way to thicken your tone is probably to get a real amp.

NecroFile
Metalhead

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:47 pm 

Maybe try something weird like running two instances of amplitube, with slightly different settings. There are other amp sims available on the internet like SoloC and Redskull, maybe one of those will work out better for you.

Count_Grimith
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 10:51 pm