Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Buried_Death
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:34 am 

I want to make a studio with the sum amount of £5,000 the studio must have be capable of doing the following –

• Recording a band
• Composing for film and television
• Mastering stereo recordings

The equipment i need:

• A mixer
• A pair of monitors
• A soundcard
• Enough microphones to track a band live
• A computer system and software.

If anyone has any ideas on what i should get and why i should get it, then it would be a great help.

Bezerko
Vladimir Poopin

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:55 am 

I'm no expert on the manner (ask rexxz for that) but 5000 pounds? You're going to have to be buying pretty cheap equipment to do all that for 5000 pounds...

MushroomStamp
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:22 am 

What about investments on the room itself? Sound insulation, getting rid of unwanted echo/reverb?

Masked_Jackal
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:41 am 

5,000 can probably get you some alright equipment but definitely not enough to record an entire band as well as a proper mixing/mastering setup along with software and a decent set of monitors.

Just setting up a good, DAW for mixing will probably run you a couple thousand if you pay for everything (could probably get away with pirating all the software).

MushroomStamp wrote:
What about investments on the room itself? Sound insulation, getting rid of unwanted echo/reverb?
This, too.

juicebitch
Juice Bitch

PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:49 am 

For microphones I would definitely go for SM57's, they are versatile and produce a very clear sound. Can be used for guitars, vocals and drums (although I would personally use an AKG on the bass drum).

Here's a link.

http://www.shure.com/ProAudio/Products/ ... LC_content