Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
diabolikon
Metalhead

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:33 pm
Posts: 978
Location: United States of America
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:47 pm 
 

So, I'm looking for a cable that I can plug into my guitar and computer a record directly to Garageband. Do any of you have suggestions on what brand of cord would be good for that sort of thing?

Top
 Profile  
Dimaension_X
Metal newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:02 am
Posts: 46
Location: United States
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:15 pm 
 

Believe it or not, I saw a guitar-to-usb cable at Target for around $40. However, I would suggest using a Line 6 POD or something similar to set up a good guitar tone first. Unless you have some good amp-simulator software like Amplitube or Guitar Rig.
_________________
Dimaension X

http://dimaensionxblog.blogspot.com/

Top
 Profile  
WebOfPiss
Myopic Void

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:17 pm
Posts: 2907
Location: Presidio Modelo
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:34 pm 
 

Dimaension_X wrote:
Believe it or not, I saw a guitar-to-usb cable at Target for around $40. However, I would suggest using a Line 6 POD or something similar to set up a good guitar tone first. Unless you have some good amp-simulator software like Amplitube or Guitar Rig.
Lol there is far better software out there. Dunno why you'd want to DI into a computer though, since most of your tone comes from your amp. I suggest just buying a mic, but if you cant afford that does your amp have a line out?

Top
 Profile  
NecroFile
Metalhead

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:01 am
Posts: 785
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:32 pm 
 

Stealthplug pretty much gets the job done, although it isn't compatible with everything.

Quote:
Lol there is far better software out there. Dunno why you'd want to DI into a computer though, since most of your tone comes from your amp. I suggest just buying a mic, but if you cant afford that does your amp have a line out?


I imagine he'd run it through a virtual amp like Amplitube.

Top
 Profile  
diabolikon
Metalhead

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:33 pm
Posts: 978
Location: United States of America
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:48 pm 
 

The program I'm using has the same tone as my amp, so if I plugged it in, it would have a less raw sound, which is what I'm sort of going for. It's better for recording with what I have.

Top
 Profile  
mike40k
Metal newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:27 pm
Posts: 370
Location: Canada
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:35 pm 
 

Another option is the JamLab from M-Audio, along with the GT Player software that comes with it.
_________________
Paths [Atmospheric Black Metal] - Second full-length coming in December
http://www.pathsmetal.bandcamp.com
https://www.facebook.com/pathsmetal

Top
 Profile  
diabolikon
Metalhead

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:33 pm
Posts: 978
Location: United States of America
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:06 pm 
 

mike40k wrote:
Another option is the JamLab from M-Audio, along with the GT Player software that comes with it.

Thanks dude. I'll check that out. Is it compatible with Macs?

Top
 Profile  
Young_Metalhead
Saanut kerran. Todistetusti.

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:17 pm
Posts: 1525
Location: México, DF
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:14 am 
 

diabolikon wrote:
So, I'm looking for a cable that I can plug into my guitar and computer a record directly to Garageband. Do any of you have suggestions on what brand of cord would be good for that sort of thing?


I personally plug my guitar to the PC theourg and adpater from 6.3 to 3.5 and plug it in the "mic" or "in" line. It's not that hard, and it costed me less than an american dollar.

It still works but I can't find good software to my aims.
_________________
My Anime Blog
My personal blog in Spanish
The Science Blog
Let's be Google+ Friends
Sorry, almost everything is in Spanish...

Top
 Profile  
Scrabsy
Metal newbie

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:58 pm
Posts: 187
Location: United Kingdom
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:06 pm 
 

JamMate guitars have a USB slot on the guitar itself, allowing you to plug directly into a computer, mine came free with Amplitude 2 as well.

I'd recommend getting a tone port if you don't wanna buya new guitar though.

Top
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

 
Jump to:  

Back to the Encyclopaedia Metallum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group