Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
blood_and_fire
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:18 pm 

I'm a pretty beginner drummer looking for easy black metal songs to play, but a little challenging so I can get better. The reason I need some help trying to find songs is, I can't blast or anything right now, and most songs either have a lot of blasting, or are slower epic songs with just a simple, slow, kick snare kick snare pattern.

Prominence
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:37 pm 

You can definitely blast at slower speeds (if that's what you mean by snare kick patterns, it's about as simple as a snare on 2 and 4 bass on 1 and 3 rock rhythm), you could possibly look into Amesoeurs, their drumming is relatively slow and rocky still with some blasts.

Unholy_Asar
Metalhead

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:39 pm 

Most of the Drakthrone style of black metal is quite easy to play.

Now, if you want some really primitive shit, you might look into Bone Awl, or some of the Burzum school of bm.

Been looking into some Krieg myself, as that also isn't very difficult to play.

A lot of black/thrash is also quite easy and can be used as a transition phase when you want to start practicing some faster stuff.
True Black Metal is NOT kind of Metal, that is a complete independent music so Nazhand believes "the name of music which is called Black Metal nowadays, should be changed to Blackness music and shameful name of Metal should be cut out from our music".

TheFuneralopolis
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:07 pm 

Might I recommend Krohm? Especially on The Haunting Presence.

The music is generally fairly mid-paced and quite easy to play.

Prominence
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 10:14 pm 

In The Nightside Eclipse would be good if you can keep up.

vashts80
Metalhead