Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
droneriot
cisgender

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:57 pm 

Your thoughts on this 50th anniversary? How far do you think the civil rights movement has come since then? Has understanding between the different ethnicities in the United States improved or worsened since then? What do you think needs to be done to keep MLK's legacy alive?

https://conservativetentacles.bandcamp.com/

inhumanist
Metal freak

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:08 pm 

Well I'm no expert on civil rights in the US, but on paper everyone is granted the same rights regardless of ethnicity, and there are anti-discrimination laws, so that's an improvement I guess. Also these days mr. general public seems to be aware that racism is very bad.
If Summoning is the sugar of fantasy metal, is Manowar the bacon?

Oxenkiller
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:53 pm 

there has been great improvements in all areas in the last 50 years. Except for a few deep rooted pockets in the South, widespread systematic discrimination is nearly gone. You don't have an apartheid-style system of segregation anymore like you once did. There are far more opportunities for blacks in this country than there ever were in the 50's. But discrimination and racism are not gone entirely.
The Trayvon Martin case is a good example of the legal system still being somewhat biased. And since Obama has become president, there has been a huge backlash by certain elements of the right wing in the United States- certain factions of the Tea Party movement for instance. And now you are seeing certain states in the south are trying pass laws to restrict voting rights among minorities now.

Empyreal
The Final Frontier

PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:56 pm