Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2016
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Grutle Kjellson

Grutle Kjellson

Real/full name:
Kjetil Tvedte Grutle
42 (born Dec 24th, 1973)
Place of origin:
Norway (Sveio)


Grutle Kjellson is a Norwegian musician, best known as the vocalist and bass player for the progressive black metal band Enslaved. He is one of only two founding members left in the current lineup, with Ivar Bjørnson being the other one. He is the man who appears on the cover of Enslaved's album Eld.

Kjellson stated in multiple interviews, including in the film Metal: A Headbanger's Journey, ...


Vocals, Bass (1991-present)

1991 Nema (Demo) Vocals, Bass (as "Grutle")
1992 Yggdrasill (Demo) Vocals, Bass (as "Earl Grutle")
1993 Hordanes Land (EP) Vocals, Bass (as "Earl Grutle")
1993 Emperor / Hordanes Land (Split) Vocals, Bass (as "Earl Grutle")
1994 Promo '94 (Demo) Vocals, Bass
1994 Vikingligr veldi Vocals, Bass
1994 Frost Vocals, Bass, Mouthharp
1995 The Forest Is My Throne / Yggdrasill (Split) Vocals, Bass (as "Earl Grutle")
1997 Eld Vocals, Bass
1998 Blodhemn Vocals, Bass
2000 Mardraum: Beyond the Within Vocals, Bass, Electronics
2001 Monumension Vocals, Bass
2003 Below the Lights Vocals, Bass, Lyrics (tracks 1, 3)
2003 Live Retaliation (Video) Vocals, Bass
2004 Isa Vocals, Bass
2005 Return to Yggdrasill (Video) Bass, Vocals
2006 Ruun Vocals, Bass
2008 Vertebrae Vocals, Bass
2010 Axioma Ethica Odini Vocals, Bass, SH - 1
2011 The Watcher (Live) (Single) Bass, Vocals
2011 The Sleeping Gods (EP) Vocals, Bass
2011 Thorn (EP) Vocals, Bass
2012 RIITIIR Vocals, Bass, Effects, Lyrics
2015 In Times Vocals, Bass, Double Bass, Effects
(show all)


Vocals, Bass

1998 Metal for Demons Vocals, Bass




As Grutle:
Vocals, Bass (?-1991)

1991 Feverish Convulsions (Demo) Vocals

Tangerine Funk



2006 Too Old Too Cold (Single) Vocals (track 2)


2006 Circling Buzzards Vocals (track 3)

Rise of Avernus

2015 Dramatis Personæ (EP) Vocals (track 3)


2007 Days of Wrath Vocals (additional)


2003 NonAnthropogenic Vocals (additional)


2007 I krig Vocals (track 6)


1994 Frost Cover concept (as "Grutle")
1997 Eld Photography
2003 Below the Lights Producer, Mixing
2006 Ruun Conceptual Production
2008 Vertebrae Producer, Art direction
2009 The Wooden Box (Boxed set) Producer
2010 Axioma Ethica Odini Producer, Art Concept
2012 RIITIIR Producer, Design concept
2015 In Times Producer, Art direction
Added by: Evenfiel Modified by: Mandanguero
Added on: 2011-04-09 03:53:15 Last modified on: 2016-03-04 11:03:09
Duplicate? Please file a report for merging.