Register Forgot login?

© 2002-2016
Encyclopaedia Metallum

Best viewed
without Internet Explorer,
in 1280 x 960 resolution
or higher.

Frostland Tapes


Release date:
June 23rd, 2008
Catalog ID:
Peaceville Records
3 reviews (avg. 80%)
Disc 1
1. Land of Frost 04:06  
  (loading lyrics...)
2. Winds of Triton 01:57  
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Forest of Darkness 04:41  
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Odyssey of Freedom 03:32  
  (loading lyrics...)
5. Day of the Dead 05:39  
  (loading lyrics...)
6. Intro: Twilight Dimension 00:45   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Snowfall 09:05   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Eon 03:46   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
9. Thulcandra 05:47   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
10. Archipelago 04:53   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
11. Soria Moria 03:43  
  (loading lyrics...)
Disc 2
1. The Watchtower 05:12   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
2. Accumulation of Generalization 03:10   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
3. Sempiternal Past / Presence View Sepulchrality 03:21   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia 04:00   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
5. Cromlech 04:32   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
6. Sunrise over Locus Mortis 03:37   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Soulside Journey 05:00   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Accumulation of Generalization 03:27   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
9. Sempiternal Past / Presence View Sepulchrality 03:57   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
10. Iconoclasm Sweeps Cappadocia 04:29   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
11. Neptune Towers 03:20   Show lyrics
  (loading lyrics...)
Disc 3
1. Rex 04:10   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
2. Pure Demoniac Blessing 02:49   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
3. (The) Grimness of Which Shepherds Mourn 04:40   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
4. Sadomasochistic Rites 04:20   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
5. As Desertshadows 05:03   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
6. In His Lovely Kingdom 03:33   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
7. Black Daimon 02:15   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
8. Toward(s) the Thornfields 03:54   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
9. (Birth of Evil) Virgin Sin 03:38   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
10. Green Cave Float 04:08   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
11. A Blaze in the Northern Sky 04:56   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
12. Fenriz Drum Solo 02:35   instrumental
  (loading lyrics...)
Miscellaneous staff
Trine Paulsen Cover art
Kim Sølve Cover art
Trine Paulsen Cover art
Kim Sølve Cover art
Read The first snow; Darkthrone... 80% Evil_Johnny_666 April 7th, 2010
Read Entar to realm of Satan! 75% autothrall January 22nd, 2010
Read Mostly Killer and No Filler 85% MushroomStamp July 26th, 2008

The release of Frostlands Tapes coincided with the band's 21st anniversary. It is the first official release to contain all four of Darkthrone's demos.

Frostland Tapes includes a live recording from Denmark in 1990 and the previously unreleased instrumental version of the 1991 Goatlord rehearsal session.

These songs were intended to feature on the proposed second album, before the band changed direction and the tapes were confined to the vaults. Vocals were subsequently added in the mid-nineties and this version became the Goatlord album (1996), but they are presented here as the recording sounded in 1991. This means Disc 3 is instrumental so DO NOT add any lyrics!

The set comes in a rigid digibook featuring an interview with the band, chronicling their early days, ambitions and inspirations.

Disc 1:
Tracks 1-5: Land of Frost demo (1988)
Tracks 6-7: A New Dimension demo (1988)
Tracks 8-10: Thulcandra demo (1989)
Track 11: Extra track

Disc 2:
Tracks 1-4: Cromlech demo (1989)
Tracks 5-11: Live in Denmark (1991)

Disc 3:
Instrumental version of Goatlord (1991)

A later version of the album was released as a 2CD - it includes all of the same songs, but crammed onto two discs.


Barcode: 801056024329
Matrix / Runout: Frostland Tapes CDVILEB243 Disc 1
Matrix / Runout: Frostland Tapes CDVILEB243 Disc 2
Matrix / Runout: Frostland Tapes CDVILEB243 Disc 3
Mould SID Code (Disc 1): ifpi Y212
Mould SID Code (Disc 2): ifpi Y212
Mould SID Code (Disc 3): ifpi Y212

Added by: Daemonlord Modified by: Mosurg
Added on: 2008-04-29 14:25:32 Last modified on: 2014-12-28 22:54:04